Doors To No Where’s Marc Lewis

Marc checks in to discuss D2N’s hometown show this Friday 

  
A band you need to check out is Doors To No Where out of Santa Cruz California. The trio which features Marc Lewis (Guitar Vocals), Sean O’Kelly (Bass) and Pete Testorff (drums) has been deliver the goods for quite some time now and have 2 albums under their belt. The latest effort “Lucky You” has been in constant rotation for me since it’s release. I have gone on record saying that D2N is one of the best bands have scene live in a long time. They come out with a know nonsense attitude and just do what they love and that’s play music. Your not gonna see any cliché rock star moves or stage cheese. Your not going to get some ego driven a-holes posing in band pics trying to look bad ass with the stereo typical flask or cigarette. You’re simply going to get bad ass rock n roll and killer guitar riffs. In the bay area this is a breath of fresh air. I wish more bands would just come out and play and leave the rock star crap at home! One thing that I have been really impressed with Doors To No Where is how they support other bands. This can be directly attributed to D2N’s front man and leader Marc Lewis. D2N has a big show Friday (3/18/16) in their hometown Santa Cruz at the Blue Lagoon with Spirit In The Room, Bro-Magnon and Fires Fury. I literally cannot wait for this show. When I got word I Immediately reached out to Marc in hopes of doing a cover story on D2N leading up to the show. His response was, “I really want to introduce Santa Cruz to “Spirit In The Room” and support them. Instead of getting the attention on himself and his own band he wanted to support his friends in Spirit In The Room. Well, thank you Marc for turning me on to Dennis Sanders and Spirit In The Room, I’ve been digging that bands music and am very excited to check them out live on Friday. This is not the first time Marc has turned me onto bands other then Doors To No Where. He has turned me onto “You Know Who, Year Of The Cobra, and Against The Grain. He has also makes sure I’m caught up on what’s going on with SC legends BL”AST!. It’s killer to know that some bands still support each other and help to build the scene up. It’s very rare you find a musician so supportive and loyal to others. So, having said all this I have forced Marc to do a little interview with me before the big show on Friday.

  
WormHound> Marc, Thanks for doing this! Are you ready to talk about Doors To No Where?

Marc > No problem dude. I’m happy to chat. Thanks for all the support.

WormHound > Are you ready for Friday? What can we expect for D2N?

Marc > You can expect to have a good night at the good ole Blue in downtown SC. We have a great mix of music. Bro-Magnon is going to bring the party rock and I think people are going to be really impressed and blown away with what Spirit In The Room brings. I’m stoked to check out Fire’s Fury and we in D2N are goona have fun and do our thing. Got some old tunes, new tunes and loud guitars.
 

WormHound> You mentioned new tunes.. Does that mean a new album soon? 

Marc > D2N will have new music out very soon. I’ve been in a major writing mode and am really excited about what we have been creating.
  

WormHound > How do you approach live performances?

Marc > I just want to have fun and play my songs. The three of us in D2N really trust each other and can just go for it live. Balls to the walls. A lot of the time when we play live I just slip into the music and space out on it. Playing music is my church and sanctuary. It’s great when the crowd is into it and feeding the energy but I’m always going to play my guitar like I mean it and have fun doing it.

  

WormHound > Tell us about Spirit In The Room.

Marc > I can’t. I don’t have words for it. You need to experience it. Defiantly one of the best live performances I have seen was when we played with them in Hollywood. I really respect what they do. I’m really looking forward to playing with them again and hope to do more shows together in the future. Do yourself a favor and check them out! Spirit In The Room are pros and unlike anything you have heard before. 
  

WormHound > What is your favorite D2N song to play live?

Marc > Right now I would say it’s a newer song called Burn. Pete absolutely kills it on drums through out the whole song. It has a tripped out little guitar riff that has a dirty groove going on.

WormHound > Who would you say is your biggest influence on guitar?

Marc > Oh man. There is so so many. It’s imposable to pick one. I would say that Paige, Angus, Pygmie, Mustaine, Fruciante, Peter Green and early QOTSA Homme and Kyuss Homme are brilliant. And of course the master Iommi! I could go on and on.

WormHound > How about vocal influences?

Marc > Again, the list is huge. I don’t really think of myself as a singer but I do have fun with it and know my voice is far from pretty. I always go back to Zeppelin, Sabbath and Kyuss. But I also grew up in the grunge era and was heavily influenced by the likes of Staley, Cornell, Weiland and Vedder. I always gotta give Idol and Bowie love. Bon Scott is one of the greatest!

WormHound > You have introduced me to some great bands, what new bands are you digging?

Marc > Well… Mother Crone! In my mind they are the best new heavy band out there. We are stoked to be playing some dates with them in April as part of their tour. Brume, out of SF will also be a part of that and they rock. You also need to check out Red Desert and War Drum! Lowrider is got new music on its way and I’m sure it will rock.
  

WormHound > What is next for Doors To No Where?

Marc > Friday March 18th at the Blue Lagoon in Santa Cruz! Come hang out with us! We will be in San Jose at the Back Bar Sofa on March 26th thanks to our friend’s Barren land Productions. That is going to be a great show with a solid line up. That show will feature MK Ultra, The Randy Savages and Old School Analog. Also on the bill is Drain who I’m really excited to see. I’m hearing great things about them. They look like they might be the next big punk band out of SC.
  
After that we have those dates with Mother Crone and Brume that will be rocking. Announcements about that will be coming real soon.
  
In June we will be hitting the road with our good buddies You Know Who on the Bloody Mary Tour! Get ready for that!!
  
WormHound > Thanks again for doing this, anything else you want people to know about Friday?

Marc > No No No! Thank You for all the support! As far as Friday goes, come on out peeps. Enjoy the music and if you get thirsty enjoy an adult beverage. We are very pumped to be playing with Bro-Magnon and fires fury again. We are also honored to be able to bring Spirit In The Room to Santa Cruz!

 DOORS TO NO WHERE LINKS.            

BAND CAMP = doorstonowhere.bandcamp.com/releases 

FACEBOOK = https://www.facebook.com/Doors-To-No-Where-343458506915/

TWITTER = @doorstonowhere

INSTAGRAM = @doors_to_no_where

WEBSITE = DOORSTONOWHERE.com

 
 
 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

